London Aortic Symposium 2017

The London Vascular Units at St Thomas, St Marys, St Georges and the Royal Free London will host the annual London Aortic Symposium on Thursday 12th and Friday 13th October 2017 at RSA House.

This meeting will bring together leading experts in all areas of aortic intervention.

Organising Committee:

Ian Loftus, St George's Vascular Institute

Mike Jenkins, Imperial College London

Rick Gibbs, Imperial College London

Rachel Bell, Guy's & St Thomas' Hospital

Bijan Modarai, Guy's & St Thomas' Hospital

Tara Mastracci, Royal Free London

RSA House, 8 John Adam Street, London WC2N 6EZ

Tel: +44(0)20 7930 5115




Download the final programme here


9.5 hours CPD has been awarded by the RCSEd (RCSEd01945)


Highlights of this year's meeting include:

Guest lectures on:

  • When to operate on the aorta? It's not all about size: Professor Rob Hinchliffe, Bristol
  • The RCT's: How do we apply them to our contemporary practice?: Professor Rob Sayers, Leicester

 Presentations on:

  • PreoperativeAAA screening and surveillance
  • Thoracic aneurysms: Imaging modalities and intervals for different pathologies
  • EVAR: EVAS; TEVAR and Novel Devices
  • Preparing to be a consultant and preparing for the exam
  • Configuration and commission of vascular services in 2017 and beyond
  • Juxtarenal aneurysms: How I do it
  • Perioperative care: Is day case EVAR achievable and sensible?
  • Challenging aneurysms: How should I manage them?



Registration is now open. 


Consultants: £150 up to 29th September: £180 from 30th September

Trainees: £75 

Nurses: £50

Medical Students: £50

This fee allows entry on Thursday 12th and Friday 13th October, and includes lunch, tea/coffee on both days, and drinks reception on Thursday 12th.

It does not include overnight accommodation or dinner

Confirmed faculty include:

- Professor Rob Hinchliffe, Bristol, Bath and Weston Vascular Network

- Professor Rob Sayers, Leicester Royal Infirmary

- Said Abisi, Guy's & St Thomas' Hospital

- Nawaf Al-Sabaie, St George's Vascular Institute

- Rachel Bell, Guy's & St Thomas' Hospital

- Colin Bicknell, Imperial College London

- Jonathan Boyle, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

- Rachel Clough, KCL

- Meryl Davis, Royal Free London

- Jorg de Bruin, St George's Vascular Institute

- Michael Delbridge, Norfolk & Norwich Hospital

- Jonothan Earnshaw, Gloucestershire Royal

- Rob Fisher, Royal Liverpool University Hospital 

- Rick Gibbs, Imperial College London

- Paul Hayes, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

- Peter Holt, St George's Vascular Institute

- Dr Simon Howell, Leeds Vascular Institute

- Mike Jenkins, Imperial College London

- Ian Loftus, St George's Vascular Institute

- Tara Mastracci, Royal Free London

- Mark McCarthy, Leicester Royal Infirmary

- Ian Nordon, University Hospital Southampton

- Ben Patterson, St George's Vascular Institute

- Dr Nick Price, Guy's & St Thomas' Hospital

- Kate Stenson, St George's Vascular Institute

- Mark Tyrrell, Guy's & St Thomas' Hospital

- Hany Zayed, Guy's & St Thomas' Hospital

- Dr Andy Winterbottom, Addenbrooke's Hospital Cambridge

We are grateful to the following companies for their support of the London Aortic Symposium:

Principal Sponsors


Premium Sponsors

Accommodation is not included in the registration fee.


The following hotels are near to the venue:

Strand Palace Hotel

372 Strand, London, WC2R 0JJ
Reservations: +44 207 379 4737
Switchboard: +44 207 836 8080


Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
200 Westminster Bridge Road
London SE1 7UT

T: +44 84 4415 6782



Download the 2016 programme here

Download the 2015 programme here



 The London Aortic Organising Committee: Left to Right - Professor Ian Loftus; Mr Bijan Modarai; Miss Rachel Bell; Mr Mike Jenkins; Mr Rick Gibbs